Louis Comfort Tiffany (American, 1848-1933) was an artist, interior designer, and decorative arts entrepreneur who had established an international reputation by the 1890s.
As a versatile artist and designer originally trained as a painter, Tiffany worked with a variety of media including furniture, ceramics, metals, jewelry, and most notably colored leaded glass for which he became a household name. Tiffany began making stained glass windows in 1877, continuing into the early 1930s. Through his inter-related firms, he developed new methods of glass manufacturing, such as Favrile, known for its intense color and subtle iridescence, which revolutionized the artistry of stained glass. Though his artwork spans across many mediums, Tiffany’s stained glass pieces are recognized today for their beauty and distinctive designs and remain highly sought after still to this day.
Founded in 2001, The Richard H. Driehaus Gallery of Stained Glass at Navy Pier invites visitors to experience the beauty of Tiffany stained glass windows in an intimate gallery setting. The Gallery features eleven examples of Tiffany’s ecclesiastical, landscape and figural windows in addition to a magnificent monumental fire screen. The Gallery is open daily at 10 a.m. and there is no admission fee.
The Gallery is part of the Richard H. Driehaus Museum, a nonprofit museum dedicated to the architecture, design, and decorative arts of America’s Gilded Age.
Steps away from Chicago’s Magnificent Mile, the Driehaus Museum offers visitors a fascinating view of one of the few remaining examples of the palatial homes erected by the wealthy of American’s Gilded Age. The lavish interiors are complemented by stunning examples of period furniture, decorative arts, stained glass, and period pieces selected from the Driehaus Collection. Visitors are immersed in the original splendor of this fully restored late 19th century home.
The Museum is located at 40 East Erie Street in Chicago and open Tuesdays through Sundays 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. For more information regarding the Museum, please call 312-482-8933 or visit DriehausMuseum.org.